DamienvanHolten.com

Magento: Disable notifications

Published on June 19th, 2010

Some users have trouble handling the the updates or the notifications themselves. For these users you need to disable the notifications, to let them concentrate on what they need to do within Magento. As far as I know there are 2 methods to disable notifications: creating a new user role that doesn’t see notifications or changing the administration XML templates so it won’t show notifications. I will show you both methods.

Disable notifications for a specific user role

Create a new custom user role that you give to users that you don’t want to see notifications. Access the user role page (System > Web Services > Roles) to create a new user role.

In general it’s smart to do this step right from the start of the project so you can give the users the correct roles right away. Of course, it’s also possible to change the settings of a user role later on.

Disable notifications for all users

Access the administration html templates trough either SSH or FTP and delete the following two lines from the file located at: app/design/adminhtml/default/default/layout/main.xml.

<block type="adminhtml/notification_window" name="notification_window" 
as="notification_window" acl="system/adminnotification/show_toolbar" 
template="notification/window.phtml" />
<block type="adminhtml/notification_toolbar" name="notification_toolbar" 
as="notification_toolbar" acl="system/adminnotification/show_toolbar" 
template="notification/toolbar.phtml"></block>

The next and final step is to change a block of code in one of Magento’s module files. Open the xml file located at: app/etc/modules/Mage_All.xml and change the following code:

<mage_adminnotification>
<active>true</active>
<codepool>core</codepool>
<depends>
<mage_core />
</depends>
</mage_adminnotification>

into

<mage_adminnotification>
<active>false</active>
<codepool>core</codepool>
<depends>
<mage_core />
</depends>
</mage_adminnotification>

That’s it. You’re done. Notifications are now disabled for all user roles (including administrators). Be sure to make back up’s of your files before you make any changes.

Leave a comment